Skip to Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Primary Content

Skip to Navigation

Patient safety

Our goal is to deliver the very best care. As part of this, we are always looking for ways to improve the quality and safety of the healthcare we provide. 

If you have any questions about your safety please speak to your healthcare team and read more about your rights and responsibilities at the Eye and Ear.

Australian Charter of Healthcare Rights

The Australian Charter of Healthcare Rights applies to all healthcare settings in Australia. It explains the rights of all patients, carers, families and service providers while accessing healthcare. 

Read or listen to the Charter:

Quality Account

We publish our Quality Account every year, detailing the quality and safety of our care and services. You can read the 2017-18 Quality Account online. Our 2018-19 Quality Account will be released in late 2019.


Accreditation is an independent recognition that our hospital meets the requirements of health care industry standards for quality and safety. The Eye and Ear is assessed through independent external surveyors against the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS)

The standards we are assessed against are:

Standard 1 Governance – We monitor and improve hospital performance to ensure safe practice

Standard 2 Partnering with Consumers – We involve patients and carers in planning your healthcare

Standard 3 Infection Control -  We work to prevent the development and/or spread of infection

Standard 4 Medication Safety – We ensure safe medication practices

Standard 5 Comprehensive Care – We ensure comprehensive health care meets  your individual needs and goals

Standard 6 Communicating for Safety – We communicate critical information so you can actively participate in your care and understand  management plans and discharge

Standard 7 Blood Management - We make the best use of your blood optimise and use blood products safely and appropriately

Standard 8 Management of Acute Deterioration - We respond quickly should your mental or physical health deteriorate

For more information on the visit the  National Standards visit National Standards Website