Skip to Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Primary Content

Skip to Navigation

Recognising our staff

December 2, 2015

Mark Petty with 35 year recipients William McIlroy and Robert Webb and 40 year recipient Louise Muscat

In October, the Eye and Ear presented the annual staff Excellence Awards and the Staff Service Awards at a special award ceremony — the TREVERS.

The Excellence Awards acknowledge individuals and teams across six categories, who have contributed to positive outcomes for our patients, improved working environment or improved hospital systems. The Staff Service Awards recognise the milestone anniversaries of our staff members who have shown an ongoing commitment to the Eye and Ear. The awards recognise those who have worked at the hospital for 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and even 40 years.

Congratulations to all our incredibly worthy winners of the Excellence Awards:

  • Administrative Excellence – Kathryn Day (Outpatients Bookings Coordinator)
  • Allied Health – Valerie Judge (Manager of Social Services)
  • Nursing Excellence – Elizabeth Wilson (NUM, Inpatient Ward)
  • Aubrey Bowen Medal – Mr David Marty (Head of Rhinology and Chairman of the Drugs and Therapeutics Committee)
  • CEO’s Team Award – Surgical Ophthalmology Clinical Leads: Dr John Manolopoulos, Dr Peter Meagher, Dr Christine Tangas, Dr Anton van Heerden and Associate Professor Diane Webster
  • Board Chair’s Medal – Associate Professor Michael Coote (VMO, Senior Medical Staff, Ophthalmology).

On the night the longest serving staff member recognised was Louise (Lou) Muscat, who was recognised for 40 years of service at the Eye and Ear. Now working in Health Information Services, Lou has been a fixture of the admissions department, admitting patients or helping to calm their nerves.