Skip to Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Primary Content

Skip to Navigation

Congratulation to Professor Graeme Clark for winning another prestigious prize

October 17, 2018

Congratulation to Professor Graeme Clark for winning another prestigious prize

Congratulations to Professor Graeme Clark, AC who is the joint winner of the prestigious Shambaugh Prize. This prize recognizes the work he and his co-recipients Ingeborg Hochmair and Claude-Henri Chouard have done with cochlear implants.


The Shambaugh Prize is one of the most highly respected science prizes in the world. It recognizes a remarkable work in the field of Otology and related basic research and is awarded every second year. All previous winners have been pioneers in the field of Otology.


Professor Clark is deeply honoured by the recognition and says: “The announcement of this award came as a very pleasant surprise. It also acknowledges our team effort, the funding and hospital support, the industrial development by Cochlear Limited, and not least our patients. It also sets the stage for our hoped for advances in Biomedical health care.”


It was at the Eye and Ear that Professor Clark AC carried out the world’s first cochlear implant operation on Rod Saunders in 1978, and that successful operation was the catalyst for the development of the bionic ear. Subsequently the Eye and Ear opened the first publicly-funded Cochlear Implant Clinic, with a team of surgeons, audiologists and speech pathologists.


In the picture above, Prof Stephen O’Leary hands the award to Professor Clark. He accepted the prize on Prof Clark’s behalf at the CORLAS Annual Meeting in Beijing.

Did you know?
  • The first recipient of the Shambaugh Prize, Georg von Békésy went on to win the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1961 for showing that the inner ear filtered frequencies into stimulating different sites. This was the fundamental underlining the multi-channel cochlear implant for which Graeme Clark, Ingeborg Hochmair and Blake Wilson received the Lasker DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award in 2013.
  • Professor O’Leary was also the first Australian recipient of the CORLAS Acta Otolaryngologica Prize in 2015.
  • Professor Clark is the first Australian to have been awarded the prize.
  • Professor Clark received other prestigious awards such as:
    • The Zulch Prize awarded by the Max Planck Society (Germany), for exceptional achievement in basic neurological research (2007).
    • The Otto Schmitt Award by the International Federation for Medical and Biological Engineering for exceptional contributions to the advancement of the field of medical and biological engineering (2009).
    • The Lister Medal awarded by the Royal College of Surgeons of England in recognition of contributions to surgical science (2010).
    • Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award which honours investigators whose contributions have improved the clinical treatment of patients (2013).

In This Section