Skip to Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Primary Content

Skip to Navigation

The Hospital Excellence Awards 2013

October 25, 2013

The Hospital Excellence Awards 2013

During the Annual General Meeting on 23 October, the winners of the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Excellence awards were announced. Congratulations to the following recipients:


Board Chair’s Medal 

Awarded to a person who has made a major contribution to the hospital in a particular field. This is the hospital's highest award and Chair’s Medal recipients are true 'heroes' and identities at the hospital.


Dr  McCombe joined the Eye and Ear in 1990. He has been Chair of Eye Section and subsequently chair of Senior Medical Staff. More recently Mark has been actively involved in the redevelopment planning and has embraced the impending changes, showing great leadership, engaging with other clinicians and being a key contributor to the user groups for the redevelopment.


CEO’s Team Award

For demonstrating the qualities of cooperation and collaboration and are committed to doing their best for our patients, families and the hospital, and who have made an outstanding contribution to the hospital in their chosen field.


Manager, Nicola Edwards. Team members; Siobhan Gerrard, Rebecca Hennessy, Kate Bateman and Rotem Hochman. Fundraising team members, Julianna Green and Christina Thanasenaris. Former team members, Sarah Gorman and Larissa Bell.

The Marketing and Communications team have planned and executed a vast range of events, activities and materials for the 150th anniversary which have raised the profile of the hospital, reinforcing its position as a centre of excellence. The calendar of events included an opening ceremony at Government House, a Street Party visited by over 1000 guests, 5 public lectures, staff service awards for 140 long serving staff members and participation in the Open House Melbourne weekend. 


Dr J Aubrey Bowen Medal

For outstanding clinical leadership or significantly contributing to enhanced patient care.

WINNER: DR ALEX HARPER, Head of the Medical Retina Clinic

Dr. Harper has been employed at the Eye and Ear since 1993. The hospital has benefited by his achievements in many ways. As head of the Medical Retina Clinic, he encourages active research into novel therapies, is involved in teaching on a regular basis and promotes excellence within the medical retina department.Dr Harper is actively involved in the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists, teaching medical and elective students and has organized the undergraduate ophthalmology prize exam for many years.


Administrative Excellence Award

Recognising administrative support staff who provide a professional, and often personal, supportive function that enables managers to work more effectively.

WINNER: EBONY HOLPEN, Executive Assistant- Corporate Services

Ebony joined the Eye and Ear  over three years ago and is a key member of the Corporate Services Team. During this time all those who come in contact with Ebony have benefited from her excellent organisational skills, helpful and friendly manner and willingness to provide assistance. Due to a current vacancy, Ebony has taken on additional responsibilities in supporting the CEO and other members of the Executive without any fuss.


The Nursing Excellence Award

For outstanding leadership in nursing care; commitment to providing and improving family-centred patient care; encouraging others to strive to achieve; advocating the advancement of the nursing profession and the value of research in improving clinical care.

WINNER: ROBIN DARK, Short Stay Care Centre

In her 25 years at the hospital Robin has provided exceptional care to patients admitted for elective surgery. Robin passionately drives and coordinates the Heidi and Max information and activity packs for paediatric patients across the hospital. The activity packs provide calico dolls that paediatric patients can draw on - creating an excellent diversion activity prior to surgery or while patients are waiting to be assessed by clinical staff. 


Allied Health Award

For outstanding leadership and commitment to patient care; and acknowledges creative thinking that results in positive outcomes for our patients, an improved working environment or improved hospital systems.


The Audiology Department has grown significantly in the past 12 months since it has been under the capable leadership of Brooke Paisley. The team are; Bronwyn Leth, Nichola Baker, Arimbi Winoto, Anthony Patel, Joanne Bardsley, Kathryn Dark, Hannah Young, Sophie Richards and Renee Garuccio. Over the past 12 months there has been an almost doubling of vestibular testing. The team has developed innovative restructuring of its testing protocols, which were crafted using wide consultation within and outside the hospital. This has reduced patient waiting times and delivered more clinically relevant results to referring clinicians. The team has also managed to continue the ongoing supply of services and innovation in addressing hearing loss in Indigenous children.