Skip to Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital Primary Content

Skip to Navigation

Launch of the inaugural Hospital Awards at the Annual General Meeting

October 18, 2011

Launch of the inaugural Hospital Awards at the Annual General Meeting

The hospital’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Wednesday 12 October.

It was a great turn out, with more than 70 attendees, including Board Directors, Executive staff, hospital staff and members of the hospital community.

One of the highlights of the event was the launch of the inaugural Hospital Awards, a new initiative designed to recognise specific individuals and craft groups that have contributed to achieving organisational excellence.

Each year, six awards will be made to members of staff for their outstanding contribution to the hospital. The six award categories focus on creative or innovative thinking that results in positive outcomes for patients, an improved work environment or improved hospital system.

The six winners were presented their award by members of the hospital's Executive team.

Board Chair’s Medal - Linda Miln, Manager, Risk and Quality 
For a major contribution to the hospital in a particular field.

CEO’s Team Award - Orthoptics team 
For demonstrating the qualities of co-operation and collaboration.

Dr J Aubrey Bowen Medal – Dr Anne Brooks 
For outstanding leadership and significant contributions which enhance patient care by member of the Medical staff.

Administrative Excellence - Facilities Team 
For administrative support which enables Departments and/or managers to fully focus on their duties.

Nursing Excellence Award - Ramil Tranquilino, NUM DSF 
For demonstrating outstanding leadership, commitment to providing family-centred patient care, advocating advances in profession of nursing and recognising the value of research in improving clinical care.

Allied Health Award - Shannon Ferguson, Acting Pharmacy Director 
For outstanding leadership and commitment to patient care by a member of Allied Health staff in areas such as audiology, speech pathology, social work, pharmacy and orthoptics.

The recipient of the Peter Howson Deafness Fellowship was also announced. The hospital formed a partnership with the Deafness Foundation to jointly fund the Peter Howson Deafness Fellowship in the field of Hearing Science.

The Fellowship will support important, innovative clinical and scientific research, with the potential to directly benefit patients who are deaf. Danielle Tomlin is the successful inaugural recipient of this Fellowship.

Congratulations to all award recipients!